iClone 4 content to iClone 5 content in ten minutes

Painlessly moving your iClone 4 content to iClone 5 in ten minutes:

Be warned that this is a “lock stock, and barrel” move, and means you can no longer use iClone 4! I also assume that your iClone 4 Custom folders are rationally organised and not a mess.

1. Copy and merge C:\Users\Public\Documents\Reallusion\Template\iClone 5 Template subfolders into C:\Users\Public\Documents\Reallusion\Template\iClone 4 Template. This should take about five minutes, if you tell your files management software to skip the copying of identical files.

2. Then create a backup .zip file of the iClone 5 Template folder and subfolders. This will take another five minutes. Then just delete the iClone 5 Template folder.

3. Rename the “iClone 4 Template” folder to “iClone 5 Template”.

4. Copy and merge C:\Users\Public\Documents\Reallusion\Custom\iClone 5 Custom subfolders into C:\Users\Public\Documents\Reallusion\Custom\iClone 4 Custom. This shouldn’t take long, as you’ve probably not made much custom content with iClone 5 yet.

5. Create a backup .zip file of the iClone 5 Custom folder and subfolders. Delete the iClone 5 Custom folder, and rename “iClone 4 Custom” to “iClone 5 Custom”. For those with large content libraries, you just saved yourself a four or five hour disk-grinding file-copy transfer.

If you want to use iClone 4 again, you have .zip backups of the original iClone 5 content folders and can just reverse the process.

5 thoughts on “iClone 4 content to iClone 5 content in ten minutes

  1. Or, try to be smart and organized, like I never was – and take the opportunity to sort the iClone 4 directory mess out first. Don’t install a thing from iClone4 custom folder. Only the files you really need right now. 🙂

    This is because: I have 20Gb of custom files, and I prefer to leave them where they are, copying just the files I need for an ongoing project. The mess I made of the directories in an older version, I do not need it in the brand new iClone!

  2. I store my extra content on an external hard drive thats backed up and indexed. I keep all of my 3D assets in this manner. If I can remember any part of the file name then I can easily find it and it keeps iClone nice and tidy. I also backup my template folder to the same drive. Its has directories dating back several versions. I still keep props in generic folders like transportation, buildings and so on but the indexing and searching features of Windows 7 makes looking for content quick and easy without a cluttered custom folder.

    I’ve been through the content nightmare with many applications over the years and it took me awhile to get organized but once I got a system going I’d never go back to just guessing where things are or relying on my already overtaxed memory.

  3. Why wouldn’t you copy C:\Users\Public\Documents\Reallusion\Template\iClone 4 folder INTO IC5 folder? And not overwrite newer files.

Comments are closed.