Dreamworks dreams of real-time

Dreamworks CEO tells the world real-time movie animation is coming soon. Sooo… he’s getting iClone 5 for Christmas? Er, nope…

“DreamWorks is in the final year of a four-year partnership with Intel to develop authoring tools and visual technology that’s making the process real-time, which, he said, has always been the ‘holy grail’ in animation.”

“The research project is in its third year, but has never been revealed before.”

Rendering is expected to speed up by 50X faster than normal. Which, seeing as it takes a week to render 10 seconds, perhaps isn’t saying very much. But it’s an interesting revelation, and I do seem to remember reading that there was someting real-time going on with Nvidia and Weta for Tintin (awful movie, imho) — in which some of the backgrounds/distance parts were apparently ‘real-time rendered’ on huge banks of Nvidia graphics cards? Possibly using Octane or similar.

4 thoughts on “Dreamworks dreams of real-time

  1. Working on a studio has its perks, one of them is watching movies before they are released, and I can tell you that “Tintin” turned out fantastic. From story, to animation, to the attention to detail for everything. The trailers do not it justice. Regarding the real-time tech, I believe they are a little premature about the readiness of the tech, from what I’ve seen, is going to be a couple of years before we can really use it. But I guess we shall see, I have seen impossible deadlines be finished on time before from Dreamworks. So there is hope. 🙂

  2. It’s out now in the UK and Europe. No, really – it’s a bad film. I’ve seen it. Unengaging, no real magic (except for the pickpocket scenes), and the hero is really creepy “uncanny valley” all the way through. The visuals are very slick, but there has to be more than that.

  3. I respect your opinion, but I don’t agree with you. I guess it all depend on what you are looking for. If you are looking for faults, you will find them of course, but for someone that never read the comic before, and was not tainted with what it was versus what it is now, I found the story engaging. The look of the characters and backgrounds fantastic, and from what I hear, the translation from toon to 3D stylized toon was really well made. For sure a step forward, in my book. Sure the characters were not perfect, but they did not distracted me from the movie at all. I enjoyed it for what it was and not for what I wanted it to be. Just my two cents.

  4. I was never a fan of the comic, so like you I had nothing to compare it to. I just thought the central Tintin character and central baddie especially have creepy “uncanny valley” faces (a great many newspaper reviews, and our own Anim8tor Cathy have said the same), and that the film generally lacked magic (except for the pickpocket scenes) and had a clunky story with a disappointing and rather loose ending.

Comments are closed.