PuppetVision: The Movie – crowd-funding now!

New documentary feature announced, PuppetVision: The Movie

“For the past several years as I’ve been filming interviews with and performances by puppeteers in different cities and different countries literally all over the world. This is all going to come together in a documentary next year called PuppetVision: The Movie that will feature interviews with and performances by over sixty different puppeteers from about fifteen different countries, working in just about every style of puppetry that exists… including digital puppetry and machinima.” [my emphasis]

The project is currently crowd-funding on IndieGoGo

6 thoughts on “PuppetVision: The Movie – crowd-funding now!

  1. Sad to see that his appeal total isn’t moving much, even after three days. It just seems to confirm my feeling that people are wasting their time unless they use Kickstarter for this sort of thing. Kickstarter seems to be the only crowd-funding site worth using.

    • Hi David, there have been some big successes on IndieGoGo although you may be right that overall Kickstarter is the more popular platform. I think IndieGoGo has a number of positive things going for it, they’re very supportive and have a strong focus on film. In my case, I had no choice but to use IndieGoGo because Kickstarter is not available to non-U.S. residents.

      It’s still early in the campaign and I don’t think that what we’ve raised so far is a good indication of the campaign’s overall support. I’ve been getting 10-20 messages of support per day, many people indicating that while they are not able to contribute this week, they plan to soon.

      • Thanks for the info, Andrew. I do hope that it picks up for you now people have their end-of-month pay in their accounts. It’s good to hear you’re getting messages of support. I’ve promo’d you here, and also on my main personal blog. I have seen U.K. people get on Kickstarter, although I could never find out how they did it, even after asking them (I had no replies on the matter, and a Yahoo Answers Q. also drew a complete blank).

      • Thank you so much for helping to support the campaign. Non-Americans that I’ve spoken to who have run campaigns on Kickstarter have someone on their team with access to a U.S. bank account. I assume that’s how everybody does it. From their point of view, I do not understand why Kickstarter won’t expand internationally. There is clearly a demand for it. The longer they stay out of the international market, the more time IndieGoGo and others have to stake a claim to those markets.

  2. Pingback: PuppetVision: The Movie Fundraising – The Final Day | PuppetVision Blog

  3. Pingback: PuppetVision: The Movie Fundraising – The Final Hours | PuppetVision Blog

Comments are closed.